vr | ar | installation

21 & 22 March | 16:00 – 21:00
23 & 24 March | 11:00 – 21:00

Choreographies for
virtual and augmented reality

TanzFaktur
Siegburger Str. 233w | 50679 Cologne

null
null
null
null
MALOU AND DOMINIQUE

VR

MALOU AND DOMINIQUE

Germany 2021 | 51 minutes
Concept & choreography: Mark Sieczkarek & Malou Airaudo

Synopsis

Two dancers explore the space between themselves and the world. Wonderful, abysmal, playful and humorous, they open up a series of human encounters. The dancers’ cosmos of the dancers is an industrial hall. Their lives seem removed from everyday life. And yet dressed in curious costumes, they tell of life itself: Of the turmoil and magic of the relationship between two people. The French dancer Malou Airaudo and the dancer dancer Dominique Mercy have known each other since the beginning through their many years of work with Pina Bausch and the Tanztheater Wuppertal and are known worldwide. The film puts both in a completely new light.

THE DEAD CODE MUST BE ALIVE!

VR

THE DEAD CODE MUST BE ALIVE!

Germany 2022 | 19 minutes
Concept & choreography: Brigitte Huezo

Synopsis

“In the void of singular identity I emerge: from endless streams of data, from pale bones and flesh. This body is my body, is a multiplicity of bodies that blur into one another and penetrate the boundary between skin and pixels.” “The Dead Code Must Be Alive!” by Brigitte Huezo is a hybrid piece that combines choreography, live motion capture, 3D design and sound. A complex software system transmits the dancers’ movements live into virtual space, where they are mirrored by an avatar.

I SEE YOU

VR

I SEE YOU

Germany 2023 | 10 minutes
Concept & choreography: In-Jung Jun

Synopsis

“I See You” is a VR dance experience. The dance takes place in the middle of an artificial starry world, to the music of Gustav Mahler’s Adagietto from the 5th Symphony. The work is the result of a collaboration between choreographer and dancer In-Jung Jun and media artist and film professor Olaf Hirschberg. The film aims to make it possible to experience the immediacy and presence of the human body in the virtual world. As the title and music suggest, the main theme of this interactive VR experience is the desire for human closeness and energetic exchange.

HOW AM I HERE

VR

HOW AM I HERE?!

Germany 2023 | 20 minutes
Concept & Choreography: Mey Seifan

Synopsis

After years in the diaspora, many Syrians have mixed feelings when they think about a possible return home and wonder whether their hopes will be fulfilled or whether another nightmare awaits them. Mey Seifan explores these feelings in her transmedia performance “How am I here?!”. Using recorded nighttime dreams that express the fear of returning home, she explores collective trauma in an audiovisual, immersive journey realized with Slow Future Studio and other international, multidisciplinary team members.

CATALYSTS – SOMATIC RESONANCE

AR

CATALYSTS – SOMATIC RESONANCE

Sweden 2022 | ∞ minutes
Concept & choreography: Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir & Susan Kozel

Synopsis

“Catalysts” is a choreographic exhibition of somatic body states from the work of Icelander Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir. The choreographer’s work combines mixed reality technologies, kinaesthetic algorithms, archive material and living bodies. Realized by Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir, Susan Kozel, Jeannette Ginslov and Keith Lim, “Catalysts” negotiates extended choreographies of the interconnectivity of mediated bodies, healing, feminism, notions of energetic citizenship, AI and the pathology of the extended socio-political body within our physical bodies.

THE COSMIC EGG

AR

THE COSMIC EGG

Botswana 2023 | 10 minutes
Concept & choreography: Moratiwa Molema

Synopsis

“The Cosmic Egg” is set in Botswana and draws on the rock art of the San and the mythology of the Motswana. African cyborgs embark on an ostrich egg hunt that evolves into an environmentally conscious time travel mystery in which human-animal-cyborg dancers emphasize environmental sustainability as they lay metaphorical eggs – wisdom, appreciation, harmony. Intergalactic wise women, the Egg Blessers, restore balance after the hunters consume cosmic muthi made from stolen eggs.

BETWEEN

VR

BETWEEN

Germany 2023, 29 minutes
Concept & choreography: Howool Baek

Synopsis

A virtual universe made of body fragments. The new project by choreographer Howool Baek, who lives in Seoul and Berlin, begins with an unusual question: “Can we imagine the universe from which we ourselves come as something physical, but at the same time as something virtual?” This question reflects our contemporary society, which is characterized by a hybrid state of physicality and virtuality. To represent these two poles in her piece, Baek develops an artistic strategy that combines dance with technology. From the “between”, an imaginary and immersive universe is created in VR, in which one’s own body parts lead into an unknown world. Through the 360° VR spatial experience, we discover a new kind of in-between space in which the hard boundaries between the physical and the virtual, the body and the data, the analogue and the digital, and the viewer and the player merge.

TEATRO SAN MATERNO, SPIRIT OF THE PLACE

VR

TEATRO SAN MATERNO, SPIRIT OF THE PLACE

Switzerland 2020 | 6 minutes
Animation: Arnaud Parel | Choreography: Pierre-Yves Diacon

Synopsis

The film is a pilgrimage through the rooms of the Teatro San Materno, sublimated by a digital version with dazzling colours. Thanks to VR technology, viewers are immersed in this jewel of Bauhaus architecture. At every turn, they will discover dancing figures that lead them from one place to another. A unique and atypical film that – in the spirit of the Bauhaus movement – is able to stimulate the senses and perception.

PROXY

AR

PROXY

Germany 2023 | 8 minutes
Concept & Choreography: Charlotte Triebus

Synopsis

“Proxy” is a digital live performance by Charlotte Triebus in which three avatars become visible in an extended physical space. The avatars react individually to each viewer – to facial expression and approach, to distance and height of the AR device – and adapt the piece independently to the space around the viewer. Themes such as identity and cultural appropriation, which deal with the ethical aspects of the digital body, surveillance and cyborgization, are made tangible and tangible in the digital dance piece. Charlotte Triebus collaborated with composer Brigitta Muntendorf to create the interactive, binaural soundtrack.

A virtual

VR

A VIRTUAL DANCE TALE

Germany 2023 | 30 minutes
Concept: Anke Euler, Marcel Karnapke, Björn Lengers & Helge Letonja | Choreography: Helge Letonja with the dancers of Of Curious Nature

Synopsis

“A Virtual Dance Tale” explores the new virtual possibilities of storytelling in order to take a journey into an imaginary future by interweaving dance and virtual reality. If you immerse yourself in this artificially created world with the help of VR glasses, you will encounter dancer avatars that combine fragments of humans and animals and tell stories of origin, migration and the relationship between living beings. Our fragile habitat, planet Earth, has produced a great diversity of living creatures. These creatures and their way of moving have always inspired the art of dance and Of Curious Nature. For “A Virtual Dance Tale”, hybrids are created from the interweaving of real and digital bodies, enabling the artistic team to be creative in dance beyond the human body.

DANCING AUDIENCE

VR

DANCING AUDIENCE

Germany, Slovenia 2023 | 8 x up to 10 minutes
Concept & choreography: Fabien Prioville

Synopsis

The human hair in all its contradictions: as a symbol of female beauty, but also as imprisonment, as a visible sign of strength and fragility. The performance by Angie Hiesl & Roland Kaiser was created in 2006 and has now been transferred to public space for the first time as a performance installation. The performer is Snežana Golubovi.

DREAM STONES

AR

DREAM STONES

Germany 2024 | ∞ minutes
Concept: Simon Speiser & Norbert Pape

Synopsis

Inspired by Christine Brock-Rose’s “Xorandor” and the Sapara mythology, the work “Dream Stones” invites you to an AR experience in which the perception of time is synchronized between people and stones. Through the collaborative manipulation of the virtual and the physical, viewers enter into a dialog with the dream stone worlds. With this work, Simon Speiser and Norbert Pape expand their investigation of embodied immersion, which they began in “Touching Clouds”, to include questions of co-presence, both of humans and of other (artificial) forms of intelligence.

FAMILY AFFAIRS

INSTALLATION

FAMILY AFFAIRS

Germany 2023
Concept: deufert&plischke in collaboration with Dessa Ganda

Synopsis

Everyone is, has or will have a family. As the nucleus of society, it can question and break through normative rules. It is and shapes society and its development reveals the changeability of our being-in-the-world. In the exhibition “Family Matters”, deufert&plischke and Cologne-based artist Dessa Ganda present their life and artistic work in, with and through the family in various media works (photography, film, 360° video).

...public hair...

von Angie Hiesl + Roland Kaiser
Köln, Park der Menschenrechte 2023
© Foto: Roland Kaiser

INSTALLATION

…PUBLIC HAIR…

Germany 2023 | 3 minutes
Concept & realization: Angie Hiesl & Roland Kaiser

Synopsis

The human hair in all its contradictions: as a symbol of female beauty, but also as imprisonment, as a visible sign of strength and fragility. The performance by Angie Hiesl & Roland Kaiser was created in 2006 and has now been transferred to public space for the first time as a performance installation. The performer is Snežana Golubovi.

vr | ar | installation

21. & 22. März | 16 – 21 Uhr
23. & 24. März | 11 – 21 Uhr

Choreografien für
virtuelle und erweiterte Realität

TanzFaktur
Siegburger Str. 233w | 50679 Köln

null
null
null
null
MALOU AND DOMINIQUE

VR

MALOU AND DOMINIQUE

Deutschland 2021 | 51 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Mark Sieczkarek & Malou Airaudo

Zusammenfassung

Zwei Tänzer loten den Raum zwischen sich und der Welt aus. Wunderlich, abgründig, spielerisch und humorvoll öffnen sie einen Reigen menschlicher Begegnungen. Der Kosmos der Tänzer ist eine Industriehalle. Ihr Leben scheint dem Alltag entrückt. Und doch erzählen sie, in kuriose Kostüme gekleidet, vom Leben selbst: Von den Wirren und dem Zauber der Beziehung zwischen zwei Menschen. Die französische Tänzerin Malou Airaudo und der Tänzer Dominique Mercy sind seit den Anfängen über ihre langjährige Arbeit mit Pina Bausch und dem Tanztheater Wuppertal verbunden und weltweit bekannt. Der Film rückt beide in ein ganz neues Licht.

THE DEAD CODE MUST BE ALIVE!

VR

THE DEAD CODE MUST BE ALIVE!

Deutschland 2022 | 19 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Brigitte Huezo

Zusammenfassung

„In der Leere singulärer Identität tauche ich auf: aus endlosen Datenströmen, aus blassen Knochen und Fleisch. Dieser Körper ist mein Körper, ist eine Vielzahl von Körpern, die ineinander verschwimmen und die Grenze zwischen Haut und Pixeln durchdringen“. „The Dead Code Must Be Alive!“ von Brigitte Huezo ist ein hybrides Stück, das Choreografie, Live-Bewegungserfassung, 3D-Design und Sound miteinander verbindet. Ein komplexes Softwaresystem überträgt die Bewegungen der Tänzer*innen live in den virtuellen Raum, wo sie von einem Avatar gespiegelt werden.

I SEE YOU

VR

I SEE YOU

Deutschland 2023 | 10 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: In-Jung Jun

Zusammenfassung

„I See You“ ist ein VR-Tanzerlebnis. Der Tanz findet inmitten einer künstlichen Sternenwelt statt, zur Musik von Gustav Mahlers Adagietto aus der 5. Symphonie. Entstanden ist das Werk aus der Zusam – menarbeit zwischen der Choreografin und Tänzerin In-Jung Jun und dem Medien – künstler und Filmprofessor Olaf Hirsch – berg. Der Film zielt darauf ab, die Unmittelbarkeit und Präsenz des mensch – lichen Körpers auch in der virtuellen Welt erfahrbar zu machen. Wie Titel und Musik andeuten, ist das Hauptthema dieser in – teraktiven VR-Experience das Verlangen nach menschlicher Nähe und energeti – schem Austausch.

HOW AM I HERE

VR

HOW AM I HERE?!

Deutschland 2023 | 20 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Mey Seifan

Zusammenfassung

Nach Jahren in der Diaspora haben viele Syrer gemischte Gefühle, wenn sie an eine mögliche Heimkehr denken und fragen sich, ob sich ihre Hoffnungen erfüllen werden oder nur ein weiterer Albtraum auf sie wartet. Mey Seifan geht diesen Gefühlen in ihrer transmedialen Performance „How am I here?!“ nach. Anhand von aufgezeichneten nächtlichen Träumen, in denen die Angst vor der Heimkehr zum Ausdruck kommt, erforscht sie das kollektive Trauma in einer audiovisuellen, immersiven Reise, die mit dem Slow Future Studio und anderen internationalen, multidisziplinären Teammitgliedern realisiert wurde.

CATALYSTS – SOMATIC RESONANCE

AR

CATALYSTS – SOMATIC RESONANCE

Schweden 2022 | ∞ Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir & Susan Kozel

Zusammenfassung

„Catalysts“ ist eine choreografische Ausstellung von somatischen Körperzuständen aus dem Werk der Isländerin Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir. Die Arbeit der Choreografin verbindet Mixed Reality-Technologien, kinästhetische Algorithmen, Archivmaterial und lebende Körper. Umgesetzt von Margrét Sara Guðjónsdóttir, Susan Kozel, Jeannette Ginslov und Keith Lim verhandelt „Catalysts“ erweiterte Choreografien der Interkonnektivität von vermittelten Körpern, Heilung, Feminismus, Vorstellungen von energetischer Staatsbürgerschaft, KI und die Pathologie des erweiterten sozio-politischen Körpers innerhalb unserer physischen Körper.

THE COSMIC EGG

AR

THE COSMIC EGG

Botswana 2023 | 10 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Moratiwa Molema

Zusammenfassung

„The Cosmic Egg“ spielt in Botswana und stützt sich auf die Felskunst der San und die Mythologie der Motswana. Afrikanische Cyborgs begeben sich auf eine Straußeneierjagd, die sich zu einem umweltbewussten Zeitreise-Mysterium entwickelt, in dem Mensch-Tier-Cyborg-Tänzer die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit betonen, wenn sie metaphorische Eier legen – Weisheit, Wertschätzung, Harmonie. Intergalaktische weise Frauen, die Egg Blessers, stellen das Gleichgewicht wieder her, nachdem die Jäger kosmische Muthi aus gestohlenen Eiern verzehrt haben.

BETWEEN

VR

BETWEEN

Deutschland 2023, 29 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Howool Baek

Zusammenfassung

Ein virtuelles Universum aus Körperfragmenten. Das neue Projekt reflektiert unsere heutige Gesellschaft, die durch einen hybriden Zustand von Körperlichkeit und Virtualität gekennzeichnet ist. Um diese beiden Pole in ihrem Stück darzustellen, entwickelt Baek eine künstlerische Strategie, die Tanz mit Technologie verbindet. Aus dem „Between“ entsteht in der VR ein imaginäres und immersives Universum, in dem die eigenen Körperteile in eine unbekannte Welt führen. Durch die 360°-VR-Raumerfahrung entdecken wir eine neue Art von Zwischenraum, in dem die harten Grenzen zwischen dem Physischen und dem Virtuellen, dem Körper und den Daten, dem Analogen und dem Digitalen sowie dem Betrachter und dem Spieler verschmelzen.

TEATRO SAN MATERNO, SPIRIT OF THE PLACE

VR

TEATRO SAN MATERNO, SPIRIT OF THE PLACE

Schweiz 2020 | 6 Minuten
Animation: Arnaud Parel | Choreografie: Pierre-Yves Diacon

Zusammenfassung

Der Film ist eine Pilgerreise durch die Räume des Teatro San Materno, sublimiert durch eine digitale Version mit schillernden Farben. Dank der VR-Technologie tauchen die Betrachter*innen in dieses Juwel der Bauhaus-Architektur ein. Auf Schritt und Tritt werden sie tanzende Figuren entdecken, die sie von einem Ort zum anderen führen. Ein einzigartiger und untypischer Film, der – ganz im Sinne der Bauhaus-Bewegung – in der Lage ist, die Sinne und die Wahrnehmung zu stimulieren.

PROXY

AR

PROXY

Deutschland 2023 | 8 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Charlotte Triebus

Zusammenfassung

„Proxy“ ist eine digitale Live-Performance von Charlotte Triebus, in der drei Avatare im erweiterten physischen Raum sichtbar werden. Die Avatare reagieren individuell auf jeden Betrachter – auf Gesichtsaus – druck und Annäherung, auf Entfernung und Höhe der AR-Device – und passen das Stück selbstständig an den Raum um den Betrachter an. Themen wie Identität und kulturelle Aneignung, die sich mit den ethischen Aspekten des digitalen Körpers, der Überwachung und der Cy – borgisierung beschäftigen, werden in dem digitalen Tanzstück greifbar und er – fahrbar gemacht. Für den interaktiven, binauralen Soundtrack hat Charlotte Trie – bus mit der Komponistin Brigitta Munten – dorf zusammengearbeitet.

A virtual

VR

A VIRTUAL DANCE TALE

Deutschland 2023 | 30 Minuten
Konzept: Anke Euler, Marcel Karnapke, Björn Lengers & Helge Letonja | Choreografie: Helge Letonja mit den Tänzer*innen von Of Curious Nature

Zusammenfassung

„A Virtual Dance Tale“ beschäftigt sich mit den neuen virtuellen Möglichkeiten des Geschichtenerzählens, um in der Verschränkung von Tanz und virtueller Realität eine Reise in eine imaginäre Zukunft zu unternehmen. Taucht man mit Hilfe einer VR-Brille in diese künstlich geschaffene Welt ein, trifft man auf Tänzer*innen- Avatare, die Fragmente von Mensch und Tier in sich vereinen und von Herkunft, Migration und der Beziehung der Lebewesen zueinander erzählen. Für „A Virtual Dance Tale“ entstehen Hybride aus der Verschränkung von realen und digitalen Körpern, die es dem künstlerischen Team ermöglichen, jenseits des menschlichen Körpers tänzerisch kreativ zu sein.

DANCING AUDIENCE

VR

DANCING AUDIENCE

Deutschland, Slowenien 2023 | 8 x bis 10 Minuten
Konzept & Choreografie: Fabien Prioville

Zusammenfassung

Eine Serie von acht VR-Tanzfilmen, die speziell für die Bühnenproduktion „Dancing Audience“ von fpdc produziert wurden: Innerhalb dieser Serie laden ei – nige Videos die VR-Zuschauer*innen zur aktiven Teilnahme ein, indem sie sich körperlich mit den virtuellen Darsteller*innen auseinandersetzen. Die Bewegungen und Interaktionen des VRPublikums dienen als dynamischer Stimu – lus für die Live-Performance auf der Bühne.

DREAM STONES

AR

DREAM STONES

Deutschland 2024 | ∞ Minuten
Konzept: Simon Speiser & Norbert Pape

Zusammenfassung

Inspiriert von Christine Brock-Roses „Xorandor“ und der Sapara-Mythologie lädt die Arbeit „Dream Stones“ zu einer AR-Erfahrung ein, in der die Zeitwahrnehmung zwischen Menschen und Steinen synchronisiert wird. Durch die kollaborative Manipulation des Virtuellen und des Physischen treten die Betrachter*innen in einen Dialog mit den Traumsteinwelten. Mit dieser Arbeit erweitern Simon Speiser und Norbert Pape ihre Untersuchung zur verkörperten Immersion, die sie in „Touching Clouds“ begonnen haben, um Fragen der Ko-Präsenz, sowohl von Menschen, als auch von anderen (künstlichen) Formen der Intelligenz.

FAMILY AFFAIRS

INSTALLATION

FAMILY AFFAIRS

Deutschland 2023
Konzept: deufert&plischke in Zusammenarbeit mit Dessa Ganda

Zusammenfassung

Alle Menschen sind, haben oder werden Familie. Als Keimzelle der Gesellschaft kann sie normative Regeln in Frage stellen und durchbrechen. Sie ist und formt Gesellschaft und in ihrer Entwicklung zeigt sich die Veränderbarkeit unseres In-der-Welt-Seins. Mit der Ausstellung „Familienangelegenheiten“ stellen deufert&plischke gemeinsam mit dem Kölner Künstler Dessa Ganda in unterschiedlichen Medienarbeiten (Fotografie, Film, 360° Video) ihr Leben und ihre künstlerische Arbeit in, mit und durch Familie vor.

...public hair...

von Angie Hiesl + Roland Kaiser
Köln, Park der Menschenrechte 2023
© Foto: Roland Kaiser

INSTALLATION

…PUBLIC HAIR…

Deutschland 2023 | 3 Minuten
Konzept & Realisation: Angie Hiesl & Roland Kaiser

Zusammenfassung

Das menschliche Haar in seiner ganzen Widersprüchlichkeit: als Symbol weiblicher Schönheit, aber auch als Gefangensein, als sichtbares Zeichen von Stärke und Zerbrechlichkeit. Die Performance von Angie Hiesl & Roland Kaiser entstand im Jahr 2006 und wurde nun erstmals als Performance-Installation in den öffentlichen Raum übertragen. Die Performerin ist Snežana Golubović.