sym | po | sium

16 & 17 March | 11:00 – 16:00

Dance 4.0 –
Dance, film and research
in the digital transformation

Museum of Dance
in der German Dance Archive Cologne
Im Mediapark 7 | 50670 Cologne

© A VIRTUAL DANCE TALE (2023) Concept: Anke Euler, Marcel Karnapke, Björn Lengers & Helge Letonja | Choreography: Helge Letonja with the dancers from Of Curious Nature

Symposium DTK

Dance 4.0 – 
dance, film and science
in the digital transformation

 

With their symposium on 16 and 17 March 2024, the German Dance Archive Cologne and the Moovy Dance Film Festival are offering a two-day platform for the exchange between curatorial practice, artistic creation and interdisciplinary research.

New forms of seeing and creating are currently emerging at the interface of dance, film and digitality. Virtual and augmented realities are expanding the scope for choreographic play and creation and changing our understanding of dance and movement. Streamings, apps and digital platforms are creating new stages for dance. How are science and research reacting to these developments? How are digital technologies changing artistic dance creation? What opportunities and risks do artists see in them? And last but not least: How are theaters, cultural institutions and festivals changing as a result?

The symposium is divided into 4 thematic blocks, the discussions of which will be introduced by keynote speeches from experts:

1) PRESENT | Analysis of current immersive choreographies – what dramaturgical patterns are recognisable, what new aesthetics have emerged?

2) STRATEGIES | Discussion of curatorial aspects and criteria that characterise the field of VR & AR now and in the future. How can these new forms of art and expression be optimally presented?

3) COMMUNICATION | How can typical VR & AR aspects such as embodiment be communicated? Both to a technically savvy audience and to people who have reservations about new technology.

4) FUTURE | How can we shape dance, film and science in the digital transformation? With a view to the current cultural-political situation, we would like to conclude by discussing visions for the future of dance, science and film.

 

The discussions will be opened by keynote speeches from experts – we are very much looking forward to guest contributions from Harmony Bench (Ohio State University), André Bücker (Staatstheater Augsburg), Michael Freundt (tanz:digital | Dachverband Tanz Deutschland), Prof. Dr Yvonne Hardt (Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz | Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln), Dr phil. Jonathan Harth (University of Witten / Herdecke), Marcus Lobbes (Academy for Theatre and Digitality Dortmund), Melissa de Raaf (Academy of Media Arts Cologne), Prof. Dr Claudia Steinberg, (Institute for Dance and Movement Culture | German Sport University Cologne) and Lena Thiele (ifs filmschule Cologne).

 

Concept: Thomas Thorausch, Deputy Director German Dance Archive Cologne & Ágota Harmati, Artistic Director Moovy Dance Film Festival.

 

 

Free admission

sym | po | sium

16. & 17. März | 11 – 16 Uhr

Dance 4.0 –
Tanz, Film und Wissenschaft
im digitalen Wandel

Tanzmuseum des
Deutschen Tanzarchivs Köln
Im Mediapark 7 | 50670 Köln

© A VIRTUAL DANCE TALE (2023) Konzept: Anke Euler, Marcel Karnapke, Björn Lengers & Helge Letonja | Choreografie: Helge Letonja mit den Tänzer*innen von Of Curious Nature

Symposium DTK

Dance 4.0 – 
Tanz, Film und Wissenschaft
im digitalen Wandel

 

 

Das Deutsche Tanzarchiv Köln und das Moovy Tanzfilmfestival bieten mit ihrem Symposium am 16. und 17. März 2024 eine zweitägige Plattform für den Austausch zwischen kuratorischer Praxis, künstlerischer Kreation und interdisziplinärer Forschung.

 

Gegenwärtig entstehen neue Formen des Sehens und Kreierens an der Schnittstelle von Tanz, Film und Digitalität. Virtual und Augmented Realities erweitern choreografische Spiel- und Gestaltungsräume und verändern unser Verständnis von Tanz und Bewegung. Streamings, Apps und digitale Plattformen schaffen neue Bühnen für den Tanz. Wie reagieren Wissenschaft und Forschung auf diese Entwicklungen? Wie verändern digitale Technologien tanzkünstlerisches Schaffen? Welche Chancen und Risiken sehen Künstler*innen darin? Und nicht zuletzt: Wie verändern sich Theater, Kultureinrichtungen und Festivals dadurch?

 

Das Symposium gliedert sich in 4 Themenblöcke, deren Diskussionen durch Impulsvorträge von Expert*innen eingeleitet werden:

 

1) GEGENWART | Analyse gegenwärtiger immersiver Choreografien – Welche dramaturgischen Muster sind erkennbar, welche neuen Ästhetiken sind entstanden?

2) STRATEGIEN | Diskussion kuratorischer Aspekte und Kriterien, die gegenwärtig und in Zukunft den Bereich VR & AR prägen. Auf welche Weise können diese neuen Kunst- und Ausdrucksformen optimal präsentiert werden?

3) VERMITTLUNG | Wie lassen sich VR- & AR-typische Aspekte wie zum Beispiel Embodiment vermitteln? Sowohl an ein technisch affines Publikum, als auch an Menschen, die Berührungsängste mit neuer Technik haben.

4) ZUKUNFT | Wie können wir Tanz, Film und Wissenschaft im digitalen Wandel gestalten? Mit Blick auf die aktuelle, kulturpolitische Situation, möchten wir abschließend gemeinsam über Visionen für die Zukunft von Tanz, Wissenschaft und Film diskutieren.

 

Eröffnet werden die Diskussionen durch Impulsvorträge von Expert*innen – wir freuen uns schon sehr auf Gastbeiträge von Harmony Bench (Ohio State University), André Bücker (Staatstheater Augsburg), Michael Freundt (tanz:digital | Dachverband Tanz Deutschland), Prof. Dr. Yvonne Hardt (Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz | Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln), Dr. phil. Jonathan Harth (Universität Witten / Herdecke), Marcus Lobbes (Akademie für Theater und Digitalität Dortmund), Melissa de Raaf (Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln), Prof. Dr. Claudia Steinberg, (Institut für Tanz und Bewegungskultur | Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln) und Lena Thiele (ifs filmschule Köln).

 

Konzept: Thomas Thorausch, stell. Leiter Deutsches Tanzarchiv Köln & Ágota Harmati, künstlerische Leiterin Moovy Tanzfilmfestival.

 

 

Eintritt frei